Know That I Am God

“Be still, and know that I am God…” – Psalm 46:10

God doesn’t just ask us to be still. He asks us to know who He is in our lives. He is God – all-powerful, all-knowing, all-present.

Knowing God means acknowledging His power. It is having confidence that we can defeat the enemy because He is with us. Our enemies may be failures that make us doubt ourselves, indifference that hardens our hearts, and fear that cripples us. Today, our fears revolve around COVID-19 – not only that we or our loved ones may get the virus, but all the uncertainties and instability it brings. For many, it is as basic as food on the table. For some, the agony of closing down businesses and laying off workers. For others, the inability to pay bills or loans.

Knowing God means believing that He understands what we are going through. He feels our helplessness. He knows our dreams and desires. He understands where our choices will take us. And He intervenes, because He has plans for us, plans to prosper us and not to harm us, plans to give us hope and a future (Jeremiah 29:11).

Knowing God means recognizing His presence in our lives. That He is here, with us, behind us, and ahead of us. That He is working in us and that we are not alone in this endeavor. “And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age (Matthew 28:20).”

Lord, in my stillness, remind me of who You are in my life. That You are the all-powerful, all-knowing, all-present God, my fortress and my hope. Amen.

Leave a comment